Oslob, Cebu

My friend Gina came home from Ohio and brought along her husband Brandon. She invited us to come with them to Oslob to experience swimming with the whale sharks. I wasn’t exactly thrilled with the snorkeling part because I don’t know how to swim, but these are my dear friends and Gina only comes home once in two years (my rough estimate :-p).

I arrived in Cebu on Friday, the day before we went to Oslob. I only took a bus and a barge going to Cebu. The sea was rough and this was the first time I almost felt being seasick while on a boat (I always feel motion sickness on a bus).

Another friend by the name of Eden was supposed to get me from a pharmacy near their house when I arrived in the city, but I went to the wrong branch of that pharmacy. I got worried because she was not answering my calls and my battery was running low. This was my first time to go to their new apartment so I had no idea where it was located. She finally got my messages and I felt I was rescued when she came. I bought her some chocolates as a gift. We also ate kare-kare which she claimed was her favorite.

I spent the night at Eden and Marc’s place. I did not have money and I only had one job at that time so I couldn’t afford booking in a hotel yet. I was just glad they treated me well. Ha! I made time to run in the morning before we headed to IT Park to start our trip to Oslob. There we met Gina, Tata aka Doms, Jao and Gina’s friend from another company, Rey. Our other friend Dottie wasn’t able to make it. We then fetched Brandon from the place where they were staying while in Cebu.

Oslob was a good four-hour drive from Cebu City. I had a great seat behind the driver but then Eden, being heavily pregnant, and Marc had to exchange seats with me and Jao. Less leg room for me! Damn!

We were booked at George and Jimmy’s Resort in Oslob. We ate lunch after discussing the payment. We had the house (well, just the two rooms) all to ourselves. We then had to discuss our itinerary. In order to swim with the whale sharks and snorkel into the corals, we had to pay extra charges. I didn’t have extra money and, as I have mentioned, I didn’t know how to swim, so I didn’t really want to pay. But Tata, out of the kindness of his heart, paid for me.

Since the whale sharks were not available in the afternoon, we headed to Tumalog Falls. We were given the impression that it was just a walking distance from the resort, but it was actually more than five kilometers away. We then had to walk a downhill path to reach the waterfalls. We were informed it was downhill all right, we weren’t just informed how steep it was. And since it was raining all day, the road was also slippery. We were getting concerned because we had a pregnant woman with us. I was already concerned for myself so I could only imagine how concerned Marc and Eden were for Eden.

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

The falls was beautiful but it was all mud under the lake. Anyway we had fun.

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

The uphill climb going back was a lot less easier and far less stressful.

We had dinner with the usual streetfood at the nearby market and had a few drinks for the night. We were joined by another guest in the resort but I was very happy that I was already too drunk to care that he talked a lot, and I mean a lot. My friends and I talk a lot too when we are together, but that time we were just brought to silence by that guy.

I had a little hangover when I woke up early the next day. I was lucky breakfast was almost ready I didn’t have to wait. :-p

We had to leave early to catch the whale sharks and there we met them…..

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

After the whale shark experience, we headed straight to Sumilon Island for the snorkeling activity. Since I’m a non-swimmer, I only stayed near the boat and never ventured beyond two meters. We also had time swimming in the beach. The monsoon winds were at their coldest at that time so it was really freezing on the boat. It was warmer to stay in the water. Anyway, here are the pictures..

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

We had no pictures of the coral reefs because Jao’s GoPro either ran out of memory or ran out of battery. I didn’t get to snorkel anyway and this is my blog – my own experience is more important – so I don’t really mind. And besides, according to them, the corals in Sumilon were dead.

After going back to the main island, we had lunch and headed back to Cebu City. I then had to catch the evening trip going back home to Sagay. I didn’t have a jacket with me so I suffered in freezing temperature during the entire bus trip.

One thought on “Oslob, Cebu”

Leave a Reply

