Islas de Gigantes, Carles, Iloilo – Part 2

A little after 2pm, we arrived at Gigantes Norte. We did not go down the boat, we only had to get our tour guide, Manong Jofer. He was the one assigned to us for the entire duration of the trip so he was assisting me until the day I left so I was sort of sad when we parted ways. Emotional me!

Nong Jofer explained to us that the group of islands are divided into Gigantes Norte and Gigante Sur. What island is part of what is something I lost track of (I really should take notes next time). I know that Gigantes Norte is divided into two barangays, Asluman and Granada, and it has about 6000 people.

Our first stop was the Tangke Lagoon. While on our way there, we saw the rock formations that made me gasp and smile in awe. I paid a lot to see similar rock formations in Palawan and I never had any idea this kind also existed in Iloilo. While the composition of the rocks may be different (I think the ones is Palawan are made of lime – please don’t yell at me if I got the science wrong), both places still feel heavenly. I wanted to live here forever and we hadn’t even started island hopping.

IMG_3319 IMG_3337 IMG_3355

The rocks right outside the Tangke Lagoon.
The rocks right outside the Tangke Lagoon.

Anyway, the Tangke Lagoon was some sort of a pool in the middle of tall rocks. It gets filled up during high tide and almost empties out during low tide. There was a big group that got there a few minutes before us so the place was crowded. I was still going easy at this point so I was still easily scared. I discovered that when I feel that I would fall or stumble, the soles of my feet would sweat and this made my slippers slippery (hmmm… Slippery Slippers… Nice name… I got dibs on this one!).

My friend Raisa had a nice time going from one rock to another (her shoes were awesome), while I was too scared to slip and have everyone watch. There was a guy who was busy taking selfies and he was right in front of me while I had a hard time walking between rocks that I really wanted to push him out of the way.

There were monkeys everywhere too. I wanted to be close to them so I could take pictures of them just like in Tawi-Tawi but again, I was too scared to slip while crossing rocks, so I contented myself in standing on a safe rock. Raisa took photos of the monkeys instead.

Raisa on the best spot...
Raisa on the best spot…
...while I was on my own safe spot.
…while I was on my own safe spot.
A monkey.
A monkey.
The crowded lagoon.
The crowded lagoon.
The cliff outside Tangke. This would be my rock the next day.
The cliff outside Tangke. This would be my rock the next day.

We decided to leave while this big crowd while still at the lagoon so we could be in the next destination without them. Anyway, we could still come back here the next day.

2 thoughts on “Islas de Gigantes, Carles, Iloilo – Part 2”

Leave a Reply

